My third week in.

February 13, 2013

image


So it’s my third week in working for this job. As hectic as it gets and as stressful because most work ends up landing on my lap, I’m loving it. It feels good to be a part of something. It feels even better being acknowledged for what I do and of course being appraised doesn’t suck either. I can tell that the main five of us will remain friends. It feels great meeting new people. Especially when you have so much in common with them. Dave and I; he’s like the male version of myself. We both have the same sense of humor and listen to the same genre of music. It’s cool. Amelia reminds me so much of my little sister. I mean, like, a spitting image of her. The way she talks, her personality as a whole. It’s cool but so weird at the same time.

I took the day off today. After last night, I kind of had to. The four of us (Dave, Amelia, Dj and myself) had a little drinking pow wow last night. We actually got out of work at 8 pm which, so far, is the earliest we’ve gotten out. So they came back to our hotel room and we got our drink on. It was honestly one hell of a night. Never in my life did I ever think that I’d be getting drunk with my “boss” but it happened. For all that don’t know – I’m not really big on drinking. The last time I drank alcohol had to be a little over a year ago. It’s just not really my thing. But regardless of the fact, I had the best night.

So today I took off and Dj went in and worked. I just received this text from Dave:
“It’s going really shitty. You are a big part of this team and it took today to realize just how much.” Then he called and told me how they weren’t able to even get HALF the store done. So I told him to give Dj a laptop to bring back to the hotel so I can fix all of whose ever mistakes that way he can just go home and go to sleep. I don’t mind and now hearing how horrible the day has gone, I feel like shit for taking off. I’ll be there tomorrow to save the day. 🙂

I’ve been sitting here watching Adventure Time. Tearing up from time to time because this show reminds me so much of Jude. I miss my boys so incredibly much. It’s only four days a week for two months. (Then I’m going to be permanently doing resets but I wont have to travel far or spend nights in a hotel away from them.) I can tell that it’s taking a toll on Jude but I don’t know what to do. I have to work. Unfortunately this is the only job I could get at the time. Well, it’s not so unfortunate but it is in the sense that it’s keeping me away from my boys. I know they’re in good hands but I wish I could kiss and hug them every day.

I suppose the team is wrapping up right now so Dj should be back here within a half hour or so. Then I’m going to bug him to get us some food and then probably work until I pass out. Dave and I have a bet on who will be at the store first tomorrow because since I’ve met him, he’s been late. I’m always early. My grandmother instilled that into my brain growing up. “Always arrive early, Amanda.”.

Until next time!
(Photo overload time:)

From last night’s “pow wow”

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

This is his Zoolander “blue steel” look (lol!):

image

image

Photos from my day today at the hotel:

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

